Which of the Five 'Love Languages' BEST Suits You AND Your Partner Today?

The Five Love Languages

Words of Affirmation
Quality Time
Receiving Gifts
Acts of Service
Physical Touch
 (not the same as sex)

Gary Chapman’s, ‘The Five Love Languages’ argues that people express love in different ways and if ‘we are not receiving love from our partner in a way that comes naturally to us then the message of love is not received’…

Now, Imagine this: What if you and your partner identified with more than one love language?

You and your partner are constantly evolving and adapting to the amusement park of life. So, who’s to say that your love language today won’t be different tomorrow? It’s unrealistic for you and unfair to your partner to fixate on one love language and think of it as the ‘end all be all’ to solving your relationship issues. There are far too many variables to factor into your relationship with your partner to follow such a simple formula.

I invite you reconsider the notion of identifying with and committing to just one love language. Rather, I encourage you to be open, curious and observe yourself as well as your partners’ ever-changing dynamic, WITHOUT judgement.

Think about the love languages as a continuum and as a spectrum. Maybe today you crave all five of the love languages simultaneously. Perhaps, tomorrow you solely relate to ‘quality time’ and visa versa. Take what you need and leave the rest. Let that be okay.

I didn’t say this would be easy, it’s a work in progress. It’s a combination of knowing and honoring yourself, engaging in introspection and communicating your observations, needs and desires to your partner -THIS is the fundamental foundation for any healthy relationship.